The Department of State issues two different kinds of passports depending on where you are in your gender transition. You must provide extra documentation in both cases.
*Your physician determines what appropriate clinical treatment is.
Status of Gender Transition
Kind of Passport
Validity of Passport
You have had appropriate clinical treatment
You are in the process of getting appropriate clinical treatment
Texas Name Change Laws
To obtain a legal name change in Texas, an applicant must submit a petition to the court. No publication is required. The applicant must be fingerprinted and submit documentation of their criminal record. Individuals with a felony conviction may change their name if more than two years have passed since the end of the sentence and if not under probation or parole, or if the individual has been pardoned. Registered sex offenders must notify local law enforcement of the proposed name change. (Tex. Fam. Code Ann. §§45.101 to 45.106)
Texas Vital Statistics will issue a new birth certificate with an updated gender marker upon receipt of a court order for change of sex. Tex. Health & Safety Code Ann. § 192.011. To apply for a new birth certificate, the applicant should submit:
Form VS-170: Application to Amend a Certificate of Birth
Certified copy of the court order for change of sex and/or name (The order must specify 'sex change', they will not accept 'gender change')
Applicable fees ($47 for a new record)
NOTE: Texas does not have a specific gender marker provision in its birth certificate amendment statute (Tex. Health & Safety Code Ann. § 192.011). Also, current case law and evidence indicates that some Texas officials and judges are adverse to issuing the necessary court orders.
Texas Birth Certificate Laws
Texas Drivers License Policy & Procedures
In order to update the name and/or gender on a Texas ID, the applicant must submit (1) a document demonstrating the name change, such as a birth certificate or court order and/or (2) a court order certifying the gender change. Applicants must inform DPS of a legal name change within 30 days of the name change.